/items/browse?output=atom&tags=Mosher <![CDATA[Explore 91ÊÓÆµ]]> 2026-03-17T07:14:33-04:00 Omeka /items/show/295 <![CDATA[Helen Mackall Park]]> 2019-01-25T22:14:18-05:00

By Eli Pousson

Helen Mackall Park was dedicated by the Rosemont Community on Saturday, December 4, 1971 to honor Mrs. Helen Mackall—a crossing guard for James Mosher Elementary School who lost her leg while saving the life of a 6-year old Bonita Lynn Lineberger at the corner of Lafayette and Wheeler Avenues.

Established in the 1930s, the park was originally dedicated as the Nichols Playground in honor of George L. Nichols, a superintendent with the Baltimore Department of Recreation and Parks who retired in 1945.

Helen Mackall Park, 600 Bradish Avenue, Baltimore, MD 21216

Metadata

Title

Helen Mackall Park
]]>
/items/show/294 <![CDATA[St. Edward Roman Catholic Church]]> 2018-11-27T10:33:53-05:00

St. Edward's organized in 1878 as a mission of St. Peter the Apostle, which was led by Fr. Owen B. Carrigan. Carrigan supervised the construction of the first church in 1880 for a congregation that likely included Catholic workers from factories scattered across the Gwynns Falls Valley.

In 1923, the church expanded with a new school, convent, and rectory. A growing congregation of 5,000 people forced the church to hold nine masses every Sunday. In 1938, the congregation started a campaign for a larger building and dedicated the present church on March 9, 1941.

901 Poplar Grove Street, Baltimore, MD 21216

Metadata

Title

St. Edward Roman Catholic Church

Subject

Official Website

]]>